Page 1 of 1

What GPS Settings Do You Use?

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:52 pm
by Dizzy
Hi everyone, as I'm sure most of you are aware I've recently invested in a GPS or to be precise a Garmin Etrex (the yellow one). After 12 years of using a sighting compass on Dartmoor, I decided to get with the times. The GPS is only for the occassional use, as I feel it takes a lot of fun out of the 'searching' part of letterboxing.
One thing I'm not to sure about is what the setting should be, I've read through the handbook but it's not that clear which one's I should be using for the moors. By the way, it worked ok yesterday on Dartmoor, shame it threw it down with rain most of the time though. :(

Ok, here are the settings I have got so far:

Position Frmt: British Grid
Map Datum: ord srvy GB
Units: Statute
North Ref: Magnetic
Variance: 004°

Are any of the settings wrong? I tracked a couple of boxes down with the GPS so everything seems to be working okish.

Dizzy

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:01 pm
by ghostbusters&mountain
I,ve got the same settings works for me fine you must have it set up right for the moors. hope this helps

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:20 am
by Brinnie
Mine is the same and it works fine, try it again.
Brinnie

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:06 pm
by Fulchet
same here

good luck with it Dizzy

Tina

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:19 pm
by NUMBER 70
Thats interesting variance dont think my Garmin 12 has that on will have to check.

I use it for 8 digit boxes as well just add a nought to the back of the four digits then when you get there dig your compass out and check the bearings off the clue, (that might keep Nic happy :D :D )

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:27 pm
by Dizzy
Thanks everyone, at least I know that I've got the setting correct! :)

I found it gets you in the right area for the boxes, but as mentioned I do prefer using my sighting compass, old habbits die hard. I think when it's foggy, or it's those boxes which no matter how hard you look you don't even find an empty site, the GPS will come off my belt clip.

Cheers
Dizzy

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:44 pm
by wires
the only differance to mine is that i use metric, just relates to the os maps that bit better for hights etc. but that is personal preferance

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:46 pm
by wires
oh yeah somthing to rember, the grid referance you read off the screen is to one meter, but the normal accuracy is only to 5 meters

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:38 pm
by Nik - KOTM
You could try turning it up the other way so that it is the correct way up :lol:

Just kidding mate - I hope you gain faith in it soon

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:29 pm
by Station Master
Your settings r fine.

But do you have to buy a cable to link in with your computer?